Bernhard Böhm

Portrait 

Bernhard Böhm studied sociology (BA) and science and technology studies (MA) at the university of Vienna, and finished his master`s degree in 2014, with a thesis on knowledge production in artistic research.

Since September 2015, Bernhard Böhm works at the ETH Zürich, in the interdisciplinary project “Academizing Architecture: Design as Research Practice” that is jointly conducted by ETH Wohnforum – ETH CASE, the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta) and the Chair of Science Studies. In this project, Bernhard Böhm is working on his PhD-thesis, which focuses on design research and the teaching of design research in architecture.

From 2007 to 2015 Bernhard worked in various positions at the Linz-based media, art, and culture institution Ars Electronica, most recently as content manager and researcher at Ars Electronica’s R&D department – the Ars Electronica Futurelab.

Between 2008 and 2010, he was involved in in the initiative transformingfreedome.org, an online archive on digital culture and politics, located at the Museums Quarter Vienna.

read more
Focus 

Science and Technology Studies (STS), Knowledge and Science Cultures, Artistic Research, Design Research.

Bernhard Böhm is interested in research cultures in art and architecture and their social and political aspects.

Since September 2015, Bernhard Böhm is working on his dissertation, in which he uses approaches of Science and Technology Studies (STS) to examine design research in architecture.

In this dissertation, he analyses how doing design research is understood at different schools of architecture and how this understanding shapes the architecture education.

To get an impression of similarities and differences in the perception of design research and education at the different schools, Bernhard conducts and international comparison of institutions that are related to diverse architectural traditions as well as to different institutional and national contexts.

In several qualitative case studies in the USA, the United Kingdom and Germany, he pursues the following questions: What does design research mean at the different architecture schools? How does design research shape teaching activities at the analysed institutions? How are the understanding and praxis of design research and the teaching of design research related to the national and institutional contexts as well as the architectural tradition of the respective architecture school?

read more

Bernhard Böhm

Porträt 

Bernhard Böhm ist wissenschaftlicher Assistent am ETH Wohnforum – ETH CASE.

Er studierte Soziologie (BA) und Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung (MA) an der Universität Wien und schloss sein Masterstudium Studium 2014 mit einer Arbeit zu Wissensproduktion in der künstlerischen Forschung ab. 

Seit September 2015 arbeitet Bernhard Böhm an der ETH Zürich in dem interdisziplinären Projekt „Akademisierte Architektur: Entwurf als Forschungspraxis“, das gemeinsam vom ETH  Wohnforum – ETH CASE, dem Institut für die Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur (gta) und der Professur für Wissenschaftsforschung durchgeführt wird. In diesem Projekt schreibt er auch seine Dissertation. Thema: Entwurfsforschung und Lehre der Entwurfsforschung in der Architektur.

Von 2007 bis 2015 war Bernhard Böhm in unterschiedlichen Positionen für die Medienkunst- und Kulturinstitution Ars Electronica in Linz tätig. Zuletzt hat er als Content Manager und Forscher in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung von Ars Electronica – dem Ars Electronica Futurelab – gearbeitet.

Darüber hinaus hat er von 2008 bis 2010 an der im Museumsquartier Wien beheimateten Initiative transformingfreedom.org mitgewirkt, einem Online-Archiv für digitale Kultur und Politik.

weiterlesen
Schwerpunkte 

Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung (STS), Wissenschafts- und Wissenskulturen, Künstlerische Forschung, Entwurfsforschung.

Bernhard Böhm interessiert sich für Forschungskulturen in Kunst und Architektur und deren sozialer und politischer Dimension.

Seit September 2015 arbeitet er an seiner Dissertation, in der er Ansätze der Wissenschafts- und Technikforschung (STS) benutzt, um Entwurfsforschung (Design Research) in der Architektur  zu untersuchen.

In dieser Dissertation wird analysiert, was verschiedene Architekturhochschulen unter Entwurfsforschung verstehen und wie dieses Verständnis die Entwurfslehre prägt.

Um einen Eindruck davon zu bekommen, welche Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede es in der Auffassung von Entwurfsforschung und -lehre an den Hochschulen gibt, werden Institutionen analysiert, die in Verbindung zu verschiedene architektonischen Traditionen stehen und in unterschiedlichen nationalen und institutionellen Kontexten verankert sind.

In mehreren qualitativen Fallstudien in den USA, Grossbritannien und Deutschland wird dabei folgenden Fragen nachgegangen: Was bedeutet Entwurfsforschung in der Architektur an den untersuchten Hochschulen? Wie fliesst Entwurfsforschung an den unterschiedlichen Hochschulen in die Lehre ein? Und: In welchem Verhältnis stehen Verständnis und Praxis der Entwurfsforschung und der Lehre von Entwurfsforschung zu den nationalen, institutionellen und traditionellen Kontexten der Hochschulen?

weiterlesen